I won’t vote for Alan or Nana Addo – Kufuor

Category: Featured, Politics 0

Former president John Agyekum Kufour has revealed that he will not vote for any of the candidates contesting the flagbearership race in the national delegates’ congress of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Saturday.

Kufuor, who was president for two terms from 2001 to 2008, refrained from voting in the party’s super delegate’s congress in August, stressing the need to preserve his neutrality.

Speaking to Citi News the spokesman for the former President, Frank Agyekum, said Mr. Kufuor believes the best thing for him to do, at this point in time in the NPP’s scheme of things, is not to cast his votes but rather stay behind and give his support to whoever wins.

There have been claims that Mr. Kufuor was supporting one of the candidates in the race to become the party’s flagbearer in the 2016 elections, which Mr. Agyekum described as “shameful.”

Mr. Agyekum further said his boss’ decision to abstain from the elections was also made to prevent any such comments being made against the former president.

“He [Mr. Kufuor]wants to stay above acrimony and above anything that would appear as if one side is favoured against the other so now he’s waiting for whoever wins.”

Three candidates, Nana Akufo Addo, Alan Kyerematen and Francis Addai Nimoh will contest the elections on Sunday and Frank Agyekum stated that whoever wins the election on Sunday will have “Mr. Kufuor’s 100% support.”

Source: citifmonline

Related Articles